Minutes of the EPA General Council

15th July 2014, Bordeaux, France

52 EPA members are present.

- 1) The EPA President Werner Nau (WN) welcomes the members of the EPA and thanks the organizers of the XXVth IUPAC Symposium on Photochemistry for hosting the General Council.
- 2) WN shows the current composition of the EC: Maurizio D'Auria (MDA), Olga Fedorova (OF), Alexandre Fürstenberg (AF), John Gilchrist (JC), Roberto Improta (RI), Werner Nau (WN), Julia Pérez-Prieto (JPP), Eric Vauthey (EV), and David Worrall (DW). The EC meets at least once a year.
- 3) EPA Newsletter: MDA and JPP are the editors. 2 issues are published yearly in June and Decembers. The printed version of the June Newsletter will newly also contain the previous December issue which appeared until now only online. 4 thematic reports appeared between June 2012 and June 2014. WN stresses again the importance of technical notes and adds that such contributions from PhD students and postdocs are highly encouraged. Also, MDA started a new series entitled "Pills of History". EPA members should check the validity of their address to make sure they receive the Newsletter and send corrections to the Treasurer.
- 4) EPA PhD Prize: there were 8 nominees in 2012/2013 and the laureate is Giuseppina La Ganga from the Università degli Studi di Messina. WN reminds the audience that nomination is a special distinction in our community. Therefore, all nominees received a small award (book on photochemistry).
- 5) Conferences: EPA members were offered reduced registration fees at photochemistry conferences such as the IUPAC Symposia and the ICP, as well as at the 4th Summer School on Photochemistry organized by HRSMC in the Netherlands. EPA flyers were distributed at several international conferences.
- 6) Facebook: WN informs the audience that EPA has been present on Facebook since 2013 thanks to Roberto Improta who is maintaining the Facebook page and posting conference and job advertisements.
- 7) WN explains that the EPA has also been able to start lobbying at the European level by exchanging views with Pascale Dupont from the European Commission. The full interview is published in EPA Newsletters.
- 8) Membership: EPA currently has 412 members. The Treasurer is developing a dynamic online membership database and working on a simplified online credit card payment solution for members to pay their dues.
- 9) Finances: WN presents the financial report prepared by the EPA Treasurer. The assets of EPA were unusually low at the end of 2012 (CHF 77'928) because the RSC did not pay any royalties during that year. At the end of 2013 however, the assets reached again CHF 96'437, very close to the average of the past 15 years, because RSC paid royalties for 2012 and 2013 at the same time. The EUR/CHF exchange rate has been fluctuating substantially. Considering that ca. half of the assets are kept in Euros and that the Euro considerably lost value with respect to the Swiss Franc in the past 5 years, the finances of EPA are healthy and the membership fee is kept at its current

value. The financial report and the accounting has been inspected and approved by the auditors Hugh Burrows and René Williams. The General Council gives a unanimous discharge to the Treasurer.

- 10) The 2012 impact factor of the society-owned journal PPS has risen to 2.923. Electronic access to the journal is provided to all EPA members.
- 11) EPA PPS Prize: the prize is awarded to the article published in PPS by an EPA member in the past 3 years which received the largest number of citations during 2 consecutive years. The 2014 laureate is Norbert Hoffmann from the Université de Reims.
- 12) Frans de Schryver will step down as the edito-in-chief of PPS at the end of 2014. Dario Bassani will take over from him in 2015. At the suggestion of the EC, Frans de Schryver is awarded an honorary EPA membership (lifetime membership). WN asks all EPA members to support Dario Bassani's effort to develop the journal by submitting high-quality contributions, serving as reviewers and recommending PPS to colleagues.
- 13) Elections: WN thanks our long-term EC member and past president Eric Vauthey who is leaving the EC. The EC proposes David Worrall as the next president of EPA. DW presents his objectives as EPA president for the coming two years. The proposed composition for the EC for the next two years is:

Maurizio D'Auria (Italy)

Olga Fedorova (Russia)

Newsletter editor

Public Relations

Alexandre Fürstenberg (Switzerland) Treasurer

John Gilchrist (United Kingdom) Website manager

Roberto Improta (Italy)

Werner Nau (Germany)

New information technologies

Past president and PPS matters

Julia Pérez-Prieto (Spain) Associate editor

David Worrall (United Kingdom) President

The General Council elects David Worrall as EPA's new President and the new EC by acclamation.

July 2014

Alexandre Fürstenberg

A. Fintenberg