## Minutes of the EPA General Council

22<sup>nd</sup> September 2020, 16:30-17:30, virtual meeting on the Collaborate online platform

24 EPA members are present, 1 is excused

- 1) The EPA president Maurizio D'Auria (MDA) welcomes the members of the EPA and hopes that everybody is well.
- 2) MDA shows the current composition of the EC, which was elected during the last GC meeting in Dublin: Maurizio D'Auria (MDA), Julia Pérez-Prieto (JPP), Norbert Hoffman (NH), Alexandre Fürstenberg (AF), Alberto Credi (AC), Cédric Mongin (CM), Uwe Pischel (UP).
- 3) He then starts to review EPA's activities during the last two years. Awards are an important part of EPA's activities:
  - Porter Medal: Vivian Yam (University of Hong Kong) is the 2020 Porter Medal laureate. Miguel Miranda and Sebastiano Campagna were the European candidates.
  - Young Investigator Award: the 2019 laureate is Haining Tian from Uppsala University, Sweden.
  - EPA-PPS Prize: the prize is awarded to the article published in PPS by an EPA member in the past 3 years which received the largest number of citations during 2 consecutive years. The 2020 laureate is Bo Albinsson from Chalmers University, Sweden.
  - EPA PhD Prize: the 2020 laureate is Bogdan Dereka from the University of Geneva, Switzerland.
  - Award for Service to the Photochemical Community: the 2020 laureate is Silvia Braslavsky, Germany.
- 4) When MDA was elected president in 2018, he vowed to work on increasing the number of EPA members. In order to reach that goal, EPA started to explore how to increase its educational activity along two lines: (1) strengthening and financially supporting existing introductory photochemistry courses and workshops; (2) strengthen the advanced summer school organized by the Holland Research School of Molecular Chemistry in a way that it would become a point of reference for every researcher in the field of photochemistry. Especially point 2 would imply strong financial efforts, and discussions about this were cut short in July 2019 when it became clear that the financial stability of EPA might be in jeopardy after the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) decided to stop publishing our journal *Photochemical and Photobiological Sciences* (PPS) at the end of 2020 (see next point). MDA hopes that the next Executive Committee (EC) will continue these aborted efforts.
- 5) On 10<sup>th</sup> July 2019, the RSC informed MDA of its intention not to renew the contract with the EPA and ESP for the publication of PPS, leaving the societies a year and a half to find a new publisher for the journal. The royalties EPA obtained from PPS during the past 5 years have been particularly high and contributed to about half of its income. A task force composed of Julia Perez Prieto, Alexandre Fürstenberg, Alberto Credi and Werner Nau was eventually able to negotiate an agreement with Springer Nature as the next publisher for PPS, which allows us not to interrupt the production of the journal and could lead to interesting developments in the future. MDA thanks

- the task force as well as Dario Bassani, the editor-in-chief for photochemistry of the journal, who has been continuously supporting the group's activities.
- 6) EPA Newsletter: NH and UP are the editors. 2 issues are published yearly in June and December. It is still a challenge to get enough contributions and MDA reminds the audience that the abstracts of PhD theses in photochemistry can be published there.
- 7) Facebook: thanks to AC, EPA is present on Facebook and the number of followers has been steadily increasing.
- 8) Finances: AF presents the financial report he prepared. The assets of EPA (2018: CHF 119'836; 2019: CHF 125'971) have been increasing largely due to the fact that membership has been stable, royalties for PPS have been consistently high, and the expenses could be kept low. The finances are healthy and expected to be stable in 2020, but the situation is less predictable for 2021 with the transfer of PPS to a new publisher. Fully online membership renewal and payment through the EPA website is now possible thanks to the efforts of our webmaster CM. The financial report and the accounting has been inspected and approved by the auditors Clémence Allain and Marek Sikorski. The General Council gives an enthusiastic discharge to the Treasurer (22 yes, 0 no, 2 abstentions).
- 9) Auditors: Clémence Allain and Marek Sikorski agree to function as auditors again for the 2020-2022 period.
- 10) Membership: the number of members has been very constant since 2012.
- 11) Elections: the EC proposes Uwe Pischel as the next president of EPA. UP presents his objectives as EPA president for the coming two years and asks for support of the community. MDA thanks Julia Perez Prieto who is leaving the EC for her work for the Society and presents the proposed composition for the new EC:

Uwe Pischel (Spain) Maurizio D'Auria (Italy)

Alexandre Fürstenberg (Switzerland)

Norbert Hoffmann (France)

Alberto Credi (Italy) Cédric Mongin (France)

Werner Nau (Germany) Susan Quinn (Ireland) President

Past president and PPS matters

Treasurer

**EPA** Newsletter editor

New information technologies

Website manager

The General Council elects Uwe Pischel and the new EC almost unanimously (21 yes, 0 no, 1 abstention in both votes).

12) At the end of the meeting, the word is open for questions and comments to the attending members. Silvia Braslavsky suggests that the EC take up the issue of reviving the IUPAC subcommittee in photochemistry and try to identify some key issues that could be of interest to the whole photochemical community, such as standards for the UV or the use of light for the treatment against viruses.

September 22, 2020

Alexandre Fürstenberg

A. Fintenberg